Heritage Commission

The Wilton Heritage Commission
was established by the town to identify and protect Wilton's historically and culturally significant sites and buildings through consultation with other town agencies as well as private citizens who wish to preserve these special resources. The Commission meets every third Thursday of the month at 7 PM in the Historical Society rooms in the Library; these meetings are open to the public and we welcome your participation in our work.

Historic House Plaques

House PlaqueThe Commission continues to offer Historical House Plaques for purchase by home owners for $80. If you own a house built before 1850 and would like to participate in our plaque program, please contact us at [email protected] To date, 71 homeowners in all sections of the town have taken advantage of this program.  You can also order a  replacement plaque for the same price if your old one has seen a lot of wear.

Historic Markers

Wilton CenterOn display as you wander through Wilton are marker signs which will give both the visitor and the resident glimpses into many fascinating aspects of our town's history. A Self-Guided Tour of Historic Wilton -- a map and guide containing information about these markers and other pieces of Wilton's history -- is available for a nominal fee at Town Hall or the Historical Society's rooms on the top floor of the Library.  For photos and descriptions of all 22 markers, click HERE. 
National and State Register of Historic Places

There are several private properties in Wilton that are on the N.H. State Register of Historic Places, including Four Corners Farm, over which the Heritage Commission has responsibility for ensuring compliance with an LCHIP conservation easement.  We are also fortunate to have seven structures on the National Register of Historic Places, including the Country Farm Bridge, Frye's Measure Mill, Hamblett-Putnam-Frye House, Wilton Public and Gregg Free Library, Stonyfield Farm, Oliver Whiting Homestead, and the Town Hall.  More information about many of these can be found in the Visitors section of this website, under Historic Attractions.

Oral History Archive

Our Oral History Archive with video interviews continues; If you have a story about living and working in Wilton we would like to hear from you at [email protected].  You can also contact us to or to access the current archive.

Commission Members

Name Title/Term Expires
Michael G. Dell'Orto Chair (2022)
Jackie Kahle Treasurer (2023)
David Potter Member (2024)
Deb Mortvedt Member (2022)
Felice Fullam Member (2024)
Donna Crane Member (2023)
Kermit Williams Member and Select Board Representative 
P. Jane Bergeron Alternate (2023)




Historic Markers

Historic Photos and Documents

Major Raymond Clark: A Memorial Day Celebration

N.H. Division of Historical Resources

N.H. State Register of Historic Places 

National Register of Historic Places

World War I Calendar Project


E-mail: [email protected]

Meeting Information
When: 3rd Thursday of the Month
Where: Historical Society Rooms in the Wilton Public and Gregg Free Library
Time: 7:00 pm

Wilton Town Hall
42 Main Street
PO Box 83
Wilton, NH 03086
United States
See map: Google Maps

Town of Wilton, NH | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2021 Intrado Corporation.